What's new

Good shoes/boots for retail work?

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
Today I discovered a gnarly split in the sole of my Red Wing 8700. They are going on 3 years old. I thought for sure they would last longer than this. I am planning on taking them to the Red Wing store and seeing what options they will give me, but I'm betting on them selling me new shoes.
I love these shoes too. They are very comfortable.

But I'm not opposed to suggestions on others out there.

A little about what I do:

I work in retail full time. I'm on my feet 8 hours a day, 5 days a week. Not kidding....I walk all over the store all day long. I need shoes that will be comfortable.
At work I kick pallets and boxes. I move stuff with my feet. I rub them inadvertently on metal shelving. I drop stuff on them. I use my feet as a tool to help lift stuff or move stuff (legs). I climb up and down metal step ladders. My shoes get scuffed and rubbed and bumped and dumped.

I pretty much abuse my work shoes and do not take care of them after work. The shoes come off and sit there until they go back on the next day.

I think it might be worth mentioning we have carpet at work, the low pile commercial grade carpet on the sales floor. Concrete in receiving.

My requirments:
Comfortable
Black in color
I wear "no show" black socks. So the shoes must work with those. I'm not interested in changing my sock style.
Retail environment, indoors - I won't be tromping through the mud, or long walks in the rain.

Budget:
I understand good shoes are expensive. I'm not looking to wear $500 shoes to work when I don't take care of them.
I'm thinking I can get really nice work shoes/boots that will handle abuse in a retail environment for no more than $300

My Work Uniform
Black pants, black belt.
Grey button down shirt some days
Red T-Shirt other days

Thank you all for your suggestions in advance!

[url=https://flic.kr/p/pvNza4]

Last edited:

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member