What's new

What have you learned, advanced and beginners?

Hello everyone, I have been shaving with a safety razor for about three months. During this time, I have cut myself so bad, I might as well have amputated, I have also learned a lot, not only from personal error, but from others trial and error. I'd like to share with you some great things I've learned(still learning), and would like to hear what you have learned as well. What have you found works best for you, what doesn't, any horror stories(weepers) or love at first use products, let's hear it!

My experience so far:

1. Learn about your skin type! When I jumped into wet shaving, I didn't consider everyone has different skin, one shave and speick aftershave lotion later, I burned parts of my cheeks, and it took about two weeks for my skin to recover. Now I know, I have dry and sensitive skin. Balms and creams work better for my type

2. All those expensive fragrance aftershaves that come as samples with your Colognes, I.e Dior, Calvin Klein, etc. Tend to be directed towards the cartridge users. I use to use them, face was perfectly fine, then I used feather blades, treet, shark's, and dang, my face looked as red as a lobster. Beware.

3. I always shaved in the shower when I used disposable razors. Once I started this great journey, I began shaving when I got out of the shower(because that's what everyone on youtube does). I broke out ugly. I couldn't figure it out, I swore I was having an allergic reaction to something. One day, I decided to have my shave in the shower; it was the best day of my life. I continued to do this for a week, and my face thanked me for it, everything cleared up, no more red, no more bumps, no more random spots of acne.

4. Proraso boar brush has to be the biggest brush in the world.( if you know of a stand for it, please let me know)