What's new

Newbie to DE shaving.

Hello everyone. So this is my first time posting. So I'll start with a little back story before my question. I am a military member who has received a shaving waiver ( which I don't like having ) because I get such bad razor burn and ingrown hairs on my neck when I shave with cartridges. I have ordered a safety razor because I heard it is suppose to minimize these issues. This is a last ditch effort for me to be able to able to be clean shaven. So my question is what advice can some safety razor vets give a newbie. Thanks everyone in advance.

Welcome doomed! First of all, thank you for your service. Nuclearblast's link has tons of great advice. Being former military I do know what a shaving waiver is and you have my sincere sympathy. My recommendations would be to follow a very thorough prep regimine, maybe start out with all products that are marketed as for "sensitive skin". Read the labels, if you can't pronounce it, then it probably isn't going to help your skin. I am not a soap/cream ingredient guru but there are plenty here that are and I have received some great advice from them.

Most importantly, go slooooooow with light pressure. My first DE shave left me with about a dozen nicks and cuts because I used my DE razor like a cartridge razor. This forum and some quality You Tube vids should prove helpful. This one is the first in a short series of very good getting started videos, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xjhIy9rgWQU&list=UUH95TR4r8JNRgLG1T1FVXhg.

I've been at this a few months now and am still learning but bumps and ingrown hairs are pretty much non-existent anymore. Good luck, and welcome.

Welcome to the B & B forum! Lots of shavers here with years of experience they are willing to share. I know you will enjoy the free exchange of information!

Welcome and thank you for your service!