What's new

Another noob here

Hello I'm from Az and have been shaving with cartridge razors for the past 14 years. I recently borrowed a friends DE (Van Der Hagen) I believe. He said it was at target in a kit. I liked it enough to do a fair amount of research and go the DE route. I am about to buy a semogue boar hair brush, Proraso sensitive shave soap, and a EJ DE89 along with a couple different types of blades. I have 3 main questions. I was torn between the merkur hd and the EJ De89 but have pretty much decided on the EJ unless told this is a mistake. 1. Is there a large difference between the different handles? (the barley is 40, the lined is 29 and the plain is 26. I like how the plain looks but read that they are very slippery (true? untrue?) With so many razors and options I've had a hell of a time deciding. I like the barley but am not sure if it's worth the extra $. I also like the plain but am worried about how slippery it may be. Ok #2. My friend's razor was good enough to make me hope there is better out there but honestly isn't that great. I've heard the EJ is not very aggressive and am wondering if it's going to be hard to get a close shave with like my friend's target razor. Basically I need to know if I can get a nice bbs shave with it like i can my fusion. I am switching because I am seeing that sometimes the best tech is old tech. Also paying $22 for cartridges is driving me nuts. Sorry to rattle on but thank you for your advice.

Hello and welcome here. B&B is a great froum full of friendly, helpful shavers. To your questions:

1. I have never tried these handles, but I would at least get the lined one. With soap and water flying around, DE shaving can get slippery

2. The EJ gets a lot of love here, so you should be OK. I like vintage Gillettes. If you look on eBay, you can score a nice Tech or Super Speed for EJ prices or less.