What's new

New to DE and Straight wet shaver!

Hi fellas. Just dropping in to introduce myself.

I am new to shaving with a DE / Straight but I have used a brush and soap for years with multiblade razors. I shaved with canned goop when I started but always gets bumps (ingrown hairs?) and razor burn/irritation everytime I shave and have started to dread shaving. I shave once a week just because of it.

Then I started with Wilkinson's soap and brush a couple years back. The difference is staggering. less bumps. a little (if any) irritations. I can shave three times a week now.

I bought a gilette tech 1952 ball-end a few days ago and found that my shave feels bbs(after 3 passes)! no irritation.. no bumps.. no cuts! for the love of... that was my most wonderful/closest shave after 10 years.

Except yesterday... i gave myself 8 bloody whiskers in a single spot... the angle is awesome difficult to get... (any tips? I heard of placing the head against the face and rolling until i feel the blade.. i haven't tried it yet.)

I have ordered a shumate 4/8 straight razor.... I cant wait to get it and train to use it...

I also dabble in fountain pens... the inks are so addicting.... haha.:lol:

Well, to make things short. thats my background. Hope to enjoy my time here.

Hi Yanyi: Welcome to B&B. Glad that you joined us. As far as advice so you don't repeat your 1st bad shave, just continue to take your time, no pressure on the razor, take your time, be patient, take your time, and enjoy the process or "pamper-time" that is wet shaving.

So... you like fountain pens, also. Wow... you definitely came to the right place. We have a great section here called "The Nib". That is another fun section if you love fountain pens. Again, welcome to B&B. Enjoy your time here. I know I am.

WARHAWK