What's new

My First Wetshave

Hey, my name’s Alec, and as the post count indicates, I’m new to B&B, as well as to wetshaving. So far I’m thinking I might be the youngest member here at a measly 16 years old, can anyone beat that?

How exactly did a 16 year old these days manage to stumble onto wetshaving you ask? Well, let me give you my shaving history. My father’s Armenian and my mother’s Italian: the perfect hybrid of hairiness (it’s bad when at 14 you can relate to Robin Williams bits about how hairy he is). I’ve been shaving for about 2 years now; I started with a Mach 3, then upgraded to a Mach 3 power when my baseball coach told me he had a friend who worked at Gilette, and he heard the power would bring some incredible changes. Gilette got me one more time when I bought a fusion this January, and I’ve been using that ever since (It seems I’ve had RAD even before wetshaving, god help me now).

I was pretty happy with my Fusion, but I was getting really bad irritation on my neck and my shaves were never that close. It seemed like fate when, as I was stroking my neck noticing that it both hurt and had stubble just hours after shaving, I stumbled across Corey Greenberg’s article which had been put up on Digg.com. I was about to leave on a 3-week vacation, but I vowed to take his advice when I got home.

When I returned, the first thing I did was start researching razors. I decided on the Merkur 1904 Classic with Taylor’s Lavender cream to go with it. Since I already had a shaving brush, I figured I was set. After a few days of waiting, eagerly reading these forums and any other source of shaving information I could find, my new razor arrived. Excitedly I tore open the packaging to find… that I hadn’t gotten any blades. It was late at night so I couldn’t get any yet, but I looked online and found I could get some cheap blades at my local drugstore. I ordered some nice blades online and decided to by an interim pack at the store the next morning.