What's new

What straight is this?

I have been using a DE (Merkur HD) for about 2 months now. As many on this board, I would like to purchase a straight razor, but I have been put off by the amount of maintenance they require. Apparently it it realistic to take months/years before you are able to shave properly and hone them on your own. I'm not sure if this is a worthwhile investment of my time right now, especially if a disposable straight shaves just as well.

I just noticed the following at Art of Shaving.. http://www.theartofshaving.com/taos/straight.php

Do you feel that purchasing a disposable straight is a good tradeoff, or should I just purchase a shave ready straight (and eventually learn to hone), or would I be better off sticking with my safety razor?

Thanks in advance for your comments.

It looks like a Dovo Shavette but it cost twice as much. I started wetshaving with a straight and the time and maintenance involved made me sell all of my gear and switch to shaving with DE's exclusively. I really liked the straight shave, I just didn't like the maintenance required on the actual razor. I know that if I ever go back to a straight razor I will start with a Shavette just because they are so affordable and you can use regular DE blades with them. I have read that the experience is different than using a "real" straight, but not having to worry about stropping and honing might just be worth it.

ajw1976 said:
I have been using a DE (Merkur HD) for about 2 months now. As many on this board, I would like to purchase a straight razor, but I have been put off by the amount of maintenance they require. Apparently it it realistic to take months/years before you are able to shave properly and hone them on your own. I'm not sure if this is a worthwhile investment of my time right now, especially if a disposable straight shaves just as well.

I just noticed the following at Art of Shaving.. http://www.theartofshaving.com/taos/straight.php