What's new

Pricing Vintage Straight Razors

I don't get traditional straight razors often but occasionally, I'm offered them. I'd mostly buy to resell but I stay away because I don't know what they're worth. There are so many different brands on straight razors that you don't always find them on eBay or SRP. Without a reference, I don't know what to ask for if I tried to sell them. Even with the common brands, I still have to think about the edge, the bevel, the pins, the scales, etc. I don't know how to price adjust.

I have two razors, a JA Henckels and a Bismarck. A well-respected member gave me an idea of prices but I'd like to get some more opinions.. just to know if there's consistency.

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

proxy.php

I'm pretty new to the straight razor scene, but I've been watching the SRP B/S/T quite a bit as well as eBay. That Henckels looks like it's a 7/8 or bigger. Nice scales. That's a good brand with a large blade. I would say at least $120, but more likely around $150 or better.

The Bismarck is also nice. Has three pins. Nice gold etching. Nice scales. Looks like it has some staining or pitting near the tang though. I would say at least $80 up to $120.

I could be way off, but figured I'd take a stab at it.

I'm pretty new to the straight razor scene, but I've been watching the SRP B/S/T quite a bit as well as eBay. That Henckels looks like it's a 7/8 or bigger. Nice scales. That's a good brand with a large blade. I would say at least $120, but more likely around $150 or better.

The Bismarck is also nice. Has three pins. Nice gold etching. Nice scales. Looks like it has some staining or pitting near the tang though. I would say at least $80 up to $120.

I could be way off, but figured I'd take a stab at it.

Your prices are considerably higher than what I was thinking.

I'm not sure if ebay is a fair barometer of prices but I do a search for a brand and check completed items.