What's new

gifting a synthetic to a badger user

A couple of years ago I bought this for my dad:
http://www.bullgooseshaving.com/vulfix-2273-travel-shaving-brush-in-super-badger/

He says it's quite worn from use, so I want to get him a replacement. He was very happy with that brush (and it's the same one I have been using for 3+ years, but mine is not worn, probably because I don't shave daily, more like 2-3 times a week).

Because of the awareness of where badger hair comes from, I want to get him a synthetic, most likely this one:
http://www.bullgooseshaving.com/muhle-39k257-silvertip-fiber/

Do you guys think he will like it as much or would I be better off just getting him the same badger brush since I know he likes it?

Thanks for any insights. I would like to make the purchase with the next day since I'm out of blades and would like to use this chance to save on shipping.

I'd suggest The Grooming Company synthetic they sell at bullgoose. It gets great reviews and gets compared to the Plisson.....which is a fantastic brush

I'd recommend a Black fibre Muhle with a nice handle. I have both STF and black fibre and for the money the BF is a fantastic brush. It makes lather really well, has good flow through. Really nice and easy on the face. Dries in minutes too.

I'd recommend a Black fibre Muhle with a nice handle. I have both STF and black fibre and for the money the BF is a fantastic brush. It makes lather really well, has good flow through. Really nice and easy on the face. Dries in minutes too.

Do you have the STF v1 or v2?

IMightBeWrong

Loves a smelly brush
I had a V2 and it was too springy for my taste. It seemed like it would rather flop than splay if that makes sense. I prefer the Black Fiber also.