What's new

Lightroom workflow

I've been using Lightroom for a few years now. I generally like it. I wish some of the features (and even keyboard shortcuts) were more like Photoshop...but that's a bit of a different topic.

Until now I've mostly been using it to handle my digital family pics. File management, basic corrections and upload to Smugmug albums.

My wife has recently started a sewing pattern company as well as some more serious blogging. I've had to do several shoots so that she has pictures for her blog, as well as a separate shoot to get a specific shot of our daughter wearing a sample of the dress for the cover of the pattern. As she releases more patterns, I'm going to be doing a variety of shoots depending on what kind of pattern it is. Could be a woman's dress, kids pants, girls dress etc.

I've yet to find a great way to handle these separate shoots in Lightroom. I usually don't need to do a ton of manipulation. I shoot a gray test card in the lighting of the shoot. Using that method, white balance usually isn't a problem. I've almost found it easier to open each picture in Photoshop, adjust the levels, use the curves for any minor color correction.

Here is a link to her blog. http://gingerhousedesigns.wordpress.com/
I did not shoot the pictures in the first post currently on the site (This Friday: The Emerson Dress). I did shoot the rest of them, except for any that look like cell phone snaps.

From what I can tell, Lightroom just doesn't have these tools. I use Photoshop almost every day at work. Retouching, color correction for items that are on press etc. I've set up some actions, but going through a whole shoot that way is still cumbersome. I do enjoy features in Lightroom like being able to cull out the duds easily.