What's new

First Safety Razor Purchase?

Hello all,

I'm new to wet shaving. I've spent my life using electric razors and recently decided to make the switch. I decided to start with a shavette-style blade, and have been having some trouble with it. Mostly I've been having issues with having sufficient time to dedicate to the straight razor shave every day, and some pretty significant razor burn issues (particularly on my chin).

I'm thinking of trying safety razors for awhile, because I simply don't have the money to invest in a real straight razor at this time, nor do I have the time to dedicate to honing and stropping.

I'd like to purchase a safety razor, in the $30 range, that would be something I could use and grow with for several years. Is there a make that people would suggest? Also, do you have favorite online store that has competitive prices?

Thank you for your help!

Joe

Gillette Slim Adjustable. About the right price range, and offers a multitude of settings. It is also a great shaver. I have several, and it is my number two razor in my rotation. I have used many others, but that one is one of my favorites.

From what I hear shavette's are even more likely to cause irritation than real straight razors. I've only used a straight razor and DE's. So going down to a DE theoretically is going to be like a walk in the park for you.

If you want a rather cool looking(but maybe too mild) piece of art get a Edwin Jagger.

If you want to be transported back in time to the 1950's, get a Merkur.

If you want the most aggressive aka MOST POWERFUL razor in your price range get a Fatip.

If you want a easy to use silky smooth razor with doors that open like on a spaceship get the Feather popular.

and I hear vintage razors are cool too...