What's new

Do I have to start counting again?

Everyone says that it takes 100 shaves under your belt. Well I've been doing this for a few months but just shaved off my mustache and around the sides of my mouth this week and it feels so awkward. I have nicked myself in this area several times. It feels like I'm starting all over. Please tell me it won't take 100 more shaves to get this area down.

There is no such thing as one set number of shaves to make you an expert in wet shaving. Nicks, cuts, bleeders, etc. happen regardless of how experienced a person is with a razor blade. The most experienced wet shaver will get an occasion nick or cut. That's the nature of dragging a very sharp piece of metal across human skin. The biggest consideration to think is your preparation. You need to ensure that the skin on your face & neck are adequately lubricated/moistened. This may include a pre-shave shower of hot water, pre-shave oil, etc. You need to find what works best for you.

It also could be the amount of time you allow yourself to shave. You cannot rush the shaving process. When it comes to shaving you need to take your time. My average time is around 20 minutes. I don't rush when I'm holding a de razor in my hand. Add to that issue that I'm not "a morning person" so I intentionally take my time when I'm shaving each morning.

Hopefully this advice helped you out!

Nah, you've got the muscle memory and dexterity down likely by now. So you just have to apply these skills to the new areas, carefully. You've got this in 5 more shaves I bet.

As was pointed out, that "100 shaves" mark isn't a set number that applies to everyone. Most of us use it to let beginners know they can't reasonably expect to master a straight in a month. They may manage to do that, but it shouldn't be an expectation of anyone that starts out. :)

I wouldn't imagine it would take too long of practicing the newly started to shave areas for you to get those down solid as well.