What's new

Looking for an inexpensive, non-ferrous fountain pen

Greetings gents! You read that correctly. I work in MRI, so I can't use a pen that's made of any ferrous (magnetic) materials. I would imagine that most pens are not, but as I have no experience with "good" pens, I figured that this would be the place to ask such a question! I was browsing the West Coast Shaving website, looking at wet shaving gear, and happened upon this Nooder's Ahab Piston Fill Fountain Pen, and wondered if it might fit the bill for me. I don't need or want anything that's too fancy or ornate, so I thought that this pen might be right up my alley. Thoughts? Suggestions? Thanks!

That ahab will have a steel nib, as must cheaper pens do, and I have no idea if they are magnetic or not. a lot of pens through the body and fill mechanisms are resin, acrylic or plastic based but the nibs are going to be a metal of some kind. what is the budget you are looking to spend, it may be possible to get a gold nib pen in a resin body at a price you would be comfortable with (usually around 120 or so)

I dont have a magnet here to check anything I own for you though

You're obviously working with far stronger magnets than I have but the Lamy nibs aren't magnetic nor is the clip and my twsbi doesn't appear to be either. My pilot capless is though down at the business end.
Titanium isn't ferrous maybe you could get a pen made from that? ;-)

Hirsute

Used to have fun with Commander Yellow Pantyhose
I'd recommend talking to Brian at Edison pens. About the components he uses. It's easy to find pens with resin bodies and gold nibs but is be concerned that the feed, filling mechanism, or clip may have some ferrous metal.