What's new

What blade should I use for my first shave?

I just received my first razor in the mail today, Razorock Mission, and am still waiting on my Merkur 34C to be shipped. Since this will be Labor Day weekend, I thought this would be the perfect time to attempt my first wet shave.

I have been reading a lot about blades and there are a lot of different opinions on which is the best. I also am aware of the YMMV rule. With that being said, what blade should I use for my first attempt. Here is the list of what I have on hand:

1. Treet Silver
  2. Astra Superior Platinum
  3. Rapira Stainless
  4. Wilkinson Sword
  5. Derby Extra

Thank you in advance for your input.

If the razor came with a non brand, do that. It's more to learn how to use the razor. Then you learn what blade angles work for each blade and how aggressive they are them-self. I'm a noob and that's what I did. I still have two blades that came with the razor other than the one currently in. Depending how many of each you have, go 3/4 shaves with the blades.

Congrats Jason.

IMO the Astra's are the best blades in the lot. With that being said I would not start with it. What I did was chose each new blade randomly and then used them for a week or two before I changed.

Since you are just starting out, choose your blades at random so any bias is not involved with the decision. Use the blade for at least a week straight before changing blades. Then once you become familiar with your razor revisit each blade to see if there is a difference.

Cheers!

I'd use the Astra but it doesn't really matter as your technique will be bad anyway and you won't really be able to tell a major difference between the blades until your technique is good. Ideally you stick with the same soap, razor, brush and brand of blade for a couple months when starting out because keeping things consistent will help you learn quicker.