What's new

Best razor blades for beginner.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to shaving with a DE razor. I'm looking for a good blade for beginners. I will be getting a sample pack soon but I'm also interested in hearing everyone's opinions. I have a Edwin Jagger DE89l and will be getting a Merkur Futur soon. I've already tried Derby, ASTRA SP and Personna Blues. Again any recommendations would be helpful. So...many...choices:bored:

Welcome and cheers.
Blades can be blades...they're all sharp.
Best blade for a beginner is the one you are using now.
Sounds like you have all quality ones there.
Keep it as a constant as you work on technique.

i just started fairly recently and have a EJ89 as well. I started off using the derby blades that it came with, then tried a few more i cant remember off the top of my head...and now i have a feather blade in. i honestly cant tell the difference other than they all cut :F.

I found that the Russian Gillette made blades, which include Astras, all seem to be a nice balance of sharp and smooth..Welcome!

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
I say stick with what ya got right now if they are working fine. Work on your technique, lather, prep, and worry bout blades later

In general, you'll probably get the most comfortable shave from, "the mildest blade that cuts without resistance." For some guys with really fine beards, that's a Dorco, for others, it's a Feather.

Voskhod is very smooth and forgiving.
Then we have good blades like Astra SP, Polsilver SI, Gillette Silver Blue, Feathers.
I highly recommend any beginner to get a tuck of all those 5.

After 6 or 7 months of DE shaving, I am still experimenting with blades. I make a short note about each one I use, and they are falling into a ranking, best to worst. In a couple of months, I'll probably get 100 of my top two or three.