What's new

Blade Recommendation for a Newbie?

OK, I'm new to this DE Safety Razor stuff. My father and grandfather both used them and I used to "shave" with them both when I was little using an empty safety razor.

I was recently feeling abused by the prices for Mach 3 replacement cartridges and started looking for alternatives.

I tried Harry's but found that their 6 blade system seemed to clog a lot compared to my old Mach 3. Plus the head size of their blades was very large in comparison making it difficult to shave more difficult areas like under my nose.

So I was at a new CVS store and saw a product called the Microtouch One razor. To me it looked just like the old butterfly style razor my father and grandfather used. The price was super cheap and it came with 10 blades. I know this is a cheap handle but it is doing the job for me. I'm a fan of the butterfly style because I understand how it works. At some point I will likely upgraded.

But now I'm approaching the end of the "included blades" from my kit. CVS and Walgreens seem to not carry any choices of DE blades - I think they carried "Studio 35" brand.

The included blades that came with my kit were Dorco New Platinum ST300. I don't know how this rates for sharpness, smoothness, etc.

What blade would you suggest as their next set of blades for a newbie? And since I cannot seem to find blades locally, where would you suggest buying them?

If there are Sally Beauty supply stores near you, they carry Personna blades the last time I checked. Dollar General also carries blades and I believe they are rebranded Dorcos.

Online there is a site tryablade.com that has a sampler pack you might be interested in.