What's new

Is This Dubl Duck Overpriced?

I am very new to straight razor shaving, in fact I am only one week into learning my technique and how to hold it properly. I have been using a Gold Dollar razor to learn with and have been perusing the forums and auction sites for a potential good first razor. (From what I have learned, I can expect to get no better than DFS with a Gold Dollar).
I came across a vintage Dubl Duck on Etsy and am wondering about what the listing says.

The blade is completely busted as though someone pried something with it. The listing talks about these razors selling for upwards of $500 dollars in good condition and if the buyer were to replace the blade and gave it some care, this one could be worth that much as well. I find this very hard to believe because it looks to me like replacing this blade would mean buying a whole new razor. Here is a picture of what I found.

$Vintage Dubl Duck.jpg

Is there any truth to this? Can this razor have its blade replaced? I also think that $50 is a ridiculous amount of money for this razor. Is the price on this about right or am I correct in thinking that I wouldn't pay $5 let alone $50.

Since we are on the subject, does anyone have any advice for me on what brands, vintage or new, I should be looking for? This would be my first real straight razor and I am on a budget. Perhaps sticking with the Gold Dollar for now will suffice?

I am intrigued by the thought of using a straight razor and am committed to following through until I perfect my technique. At that point, perhaps I will invest in a high end razor but until then, I want a good quality razor likely to provide a BBS without breaking the bank.

I have this feeling that when I do perfect my straight razor technique, I will never want to use anything else ever again.