What's new

Horror Pictures (Picture Heavy)

I'm relatively new to straights, and my trip has not been smooth if you will excuse the pun. I picked up a GD 208 from buca3152 as my first straight, another couple of vintage straights form Lakebound, and a CJB handle loaned to me by LadyKate. I have not yet learned to be a good, consistent straight shaver, but I have definitely learned a lot.

First, as has been discussed in who knows how many threads, the angle makes a huge difference. I know I titled this "Horror Pictures" but I'm getting to that. I got maybe three good shaves out of the GD 208. And let me get this out there: that in no way has any negative connotations to buca and his straights. This was ALL ME. He also offered to touch it up for postage which was more than he had to do. I digress but I want to make sure nobody gets the intent wrong here.

I got to a point where none of the three straights I had were shaving well, and this happened quickly. LadyKate offered to show me some honing tips which I appreciate very much. We were standing in a field on a hot summer day working from a tailgate so to say that it was less than optimal is an understatement. We were there to do something else so any time I got from him (yes, LadyKate is a "him") took away from other things. I still learned a lot, mostly to trust my fingertips when testing an edge. That was a good start.