What's new

Help me guys!

I posted a version of this under "soaps", but am not getting any replies, perhaps "straight razor clinic" is a better place. I am new to straight razor shaving and am still nervous about it. I am looking for a non-scented soap or cream to replace my favorite English Fern soap which is no longer available (I figure that I'll just use an unscented soap and the use English Fern EDT afterwards). I know that this is not an original observation, but the lather from my soap seems much slipperier than the beautiful lather I get from my Castle Forbes cream (which I use for DE shaving). Am I right in believing that the slippery soap is a better choice for a straight razor? Anyway, I'd love some feedback as to what,in your opinions, is the best unscented soap or cream to use with my straight. Thanks.

Doug, you are right when shaving with a str8 you want your lather very slick and wet, I like mine to be so wet that it almost runns off the blade but not quite. As for unscented soaps I can be of little help as I only look for soaps that have the qualities that provide me the most comfortable close shave and I pay almost no attention to how they smell or don't. I'm pretty tolerant of different scents and I don't use aftershave or splashes so there is no conflict in the scents for me. Keep at it as your nervousness will soon be replaced with a much deserved confidence.
FrankC

Legion

Staff member
Personally I lather exactly the same, whether it is with a DE, SE or straight.

Don't over think it. Do what you usually do, then experiment a little from there.