What's new

Merkur and Derby blades

I'm new to DE shaving, and started with the Merkur blade that came with my HD. I got a decently close shave in two passes, but with some overall irritation. Perhaps I've got to watch the angle I'm holding the razor at, but I also wanted some feedback on the difference I might expect with a Derby blade. Ten Derbys came with the order, as well as some more Merkurs.

Thanks.

Jay

I've only used Merkurs, Derby's and the cheapo blades from WalMart. Derby's are my favorite by far. They tend to give me a much closer shave than the Merkurs with less irritation.

I certainly prefer Derby blades to Merkur blades. Keeping all other variables the same, when I made the switch from Merkur blades to Derbys and Gillettes I now no longer have irritation on my neck, which I was having a problem with. Merkurs just feel kinda rough to me, almost scratchy, if that's possible. The more tender parts of my face feel much better after shaving with a Derby than with a Merkur. But I really can't tell a difference closeness wise.

I like Derbys as well, but in my experience, the Personna blades from Wal-Mart aren't terrible. I much prefer Derbys, but if I am out of blades, I'll go to Wal-Mart and pick up a pack without any qualms.

I certainly prefer Derby blades to Merkur blades. Keeping all other variables the same, when I made the switch from Merkur blades to Derbys and Gillettes I now no longer have irritation on my neck, which I was having a problem with. Merkurs just feel kinda rough to me, almost scratchy, if that's possible. The more tender parts of my face feel much better after shaving with a Derby than with a Merkur. But I really can't tell a difference closeness wise.

Scratchy is a good way to put it.