What's new

Feather SS Search

Hey there,

I'm pretty new to straight razor shaving (just shaved my beard off yesterday) and am interested in trying out an SS. Just got back from overseas and have a little one on the way so trying to grab one used. Anybody know of a reputable site for used?

Keep the info coming!

Agreed, once you hit the requirements to post, a wanted to buy on the BST is your best bet for a used Feather. I've not seen any other sites that carry them used at all.

I agree with the above posters. Your best bet will ve to pick one up off the bst. They are some great shaving razors.

You could also try to hunt down a CJB (feather ac clone) on the bay if you're having trouble locating a used feather.

I have a real straight and have been using it. Was just considering a feather for travel and when I don't feel like the stropping etc... That comes with a straight.

David

B&B’s Champion Corn Shucker
I have one that I use for travel. Works great. They're good shavers. When I use mine I generally just do one pass WTG. not BBS, but dang close. They just require a VERY light touch.

I have used a CJB a bit and can attest to the shave quality. No, the finish is not as nice as the Feather but really, Chrome (or SS in this case) won't get ya home. You shave with the blade, the handle is just a handle. It could be wood for all it matters.

I use the Feathers and CJB almost exclusively. I have the original stainless non-folder, SS folder and non, and the CJB non-folder. I like them all equally and would be happy with only any 1 of the 4. No doubt, the CJB will not last as long but a great way to see if you will like this type of shaving.

There is a very big difference in the available blades. I can't use the Feather Professionals, Lights or Kai Milds. For me, the best are the ProGuards and Professional Supers. Try a few and enjoy!

Marty