What's new

Bedtime Shave

Greetings,

I'm new to all of this (still awaiting delivery of my EJ89 Barley) and I thought it would be best to ask for some general advice before plunging ahead.

I have to get up very early so I prefer to shave just before going to bed. It has become part of my bedtime ritual and helps to put me in the right frame of mind for falling asleep. As such, I'm a little leery of using aftershaves that are described as bracing and stimulating and the like. However, I really would like to enjoy this part of the shaving experience.

I'm hoping for some advice and recommendations for a soothing and relaxing bedtime shave. And not just aftershaves but soaps, creams, scents, techniques, steps in the shaving process...well, anything you think might be beneficial.

And may I just say an all around Thank You to everyone on B&B! I've learned so much while lurking here.

Rick

The only advise I can give is what works for me. And that is simply to set your alarm 1/2 hour earlier.

And welcome to B&B

I would go for some relaxing EO like lavender for my cream/soap, or some other botanical.
Same with aftershave, although I would highly recommend Speick. It is amazing stuff.

As for technique, first cut down on variables at the beginning until you can get decent shaves.
Take it slow, watch your angle, and lots of prep. Make sure to soak your whiskers well in warm water before you start lathering.
Last word of advice is to face lather, I find it helps cut down on prep time, and perfectly prepares your face for shaving.