What's new

Newbie notes from a newbie to a newbie

I'm fairly new to wetshaving, but I tend to get very involved in any endeavour that I take up. Last year while I was applying to graduate school, I wrote detailed entries in my blog about the application process and post information that I had laboriously dug up that I found useful for students in the same sitution I was in. Kyle's post yesterday sort of inspired me to do the same thing, but my outlet will be this forum and specificially this post. This will be a sort of guide from a new wetshaver sharing the info he has been able to dig up in his short time wetshaving. My information is not going to be perfect, but I think I can answer a lot of questions that new wet shavers might have (since I've been asking them and getting lots of good answers in this forum). So, on we go....

What is wetshaving?

I won't spend much time on this because if you are here, you probably know what wetshaving is.

While these may not be the minimum requirements you'll get from everyone, I think wetshaving includes taking time to prep your face before a shave with lots of hot water, keeping your face wet during the shave, using a brush and non-canned shaving cream or soap to build up a lather, and shaving with a non-cartridge razor. Some people may say that you only need parts of these to have a shave qualify as a wetshave, however as someone who bought his wetshaving kit piece by piece, the experience isn't the same until you have all the components working for you.

Why would I want to switch to wet shaving?