What's new

Tallow vs Veggie

I am a huge fan of the recent artisan soap explosion in the US. I don't want to count how many different types of soaps I have and I'm not joing the 3017 club because the truth is the year 3017 isn't long enough for me to plow through them all. The last few weeks I've been experimenting with different razor / blade combo's. To avoid really making a mess of my face I have been sticking with the 2 soaps I know will offer fantastic glide and protection every time. Mama Bear and Mikes. I'm not an expert on either, but it seems to me most if not all of Mama Bears use veggie based oil, and all of Mikes use tallow. I've always been of the belief tallow based soaps are better, but I sure get good shaves from MB's.

Anyone interested in sharing their thoughts or experiences with tallow vs. veggie oil based soaps?

It all depends on ingredients, Synergy and Petal Pushers are two of the best soaps I've used and they are both veggie. There's lots of good tallow soaps too. No reason not to use whatever you like!

Whether tallow or veggie, some are good, some aren't. There's no way to tell without trying them.

Modern Williams is tallow and it sucks. MdC is veggie and it supposedly is the greatest soap ever.

MB is my favorite soap. :thumbup:

I prefer tallow in my kitchen rather than on my face. McDonald's fries haven't been the same since they quit using it.

proxy.php

:winkiss:

Whether tallow or veggie, some are good, some aren't. There's no way to tell without trying them.

Modern Williams is tallow and it sucks. MdC is veggie and it supposedly is the greatest soap ever.

I won't call it the greatest soap ever, but MdC does rank right up with the other top soaps I've tried. I found it to be a leader in how efficient it is, though. I barely run the brush over it and it's loaded enough for a full 3 pass shave...