What's new

Pipe 'Baccy Wish List

(I did do a search first, but I'm sorry if I missed a thread like this already in existence.)

I saw the Pipe Wish List thread, and thought, why not? I have started to assemble a wish list of sorts, and would be curious to know what others wish for. This may pertain more to newb's since those with packed cellars have already tried most of what they've hoped to try, but who knows?

I would also be open to suggestions to help prioritize this list, since I sure can't afford them all at once! As a bit of background, cutting and pasting from what I said in another thread, "I'm a total newb, smoked some various Aro's and have started to slide into the Lat camp, fave at present is Frog Morton Cellar - but I don't have a lot to compare to ... I'm not an all day smoker, or even an every day smoker. So I like a flavorful, but not sharp (and maybe I'm mistaking this with tongue-bite, which I realize is a technique issue), and I'd prefer to not hit the Nic-bombs..." Price/oz will also become an issue as well. And if some of these are tremendously similar, then I may nix the lesser's.

So, here goes, in no particular order at this point:

The other Frog Mortons
Pembroke
Penzance (tho someone mentioned it's hard to come by)
JFH Middle Earth Sampler
Squadron Leader
Sam Gawith Perfection
H&H Magnum Opus
Rattray Red Reparee
Dunhill EMP ?
Nightcap ? (too high nic?)

Of the VA's:
Christmas Cheer
Cpt Black (have to try it once, right?)
FVF ?

(obviously, leaning interest toward the Aro-Lat categories)

If you're at all concerned about nicotine, avoid both Nightcap and EMP. EMP gave me a strong nic hit, and it is supposedly mild compared to Nightcap.

I think the sharpness thing is NOT the same as tongue bite and I used to have the same question. If you don't want too much sharpness, avoid Perique, which has a very sharp/spicy feel.