What's new

Where the grain changes

I have been wetshaving for almost five years, and usually get good, BBS shaves. But I have always struggled with an area under my chin where my hair grain's direction changes. This stripe is about one inch long and half an inche wide, and it is a continental divide of sorts. To its left, the hair grows in one direction (left to right), and to its right it grows in another direction (right to left). I have a coarse beard and yet can easily shave on either side of the "continental divide." But in the "continental divide" area proper (where the hair grows in almost every direction), I always have trouble. I usually need several passes to make it BBS, which can lead to some irritation, or I cannot shave as close as I wish. Does anyone have words of wisdom on what to do here?

I so feel your pain. Same patch. Right side, under chin.

Thinnest skin on my face + worst growth pattern known to man = recipe for irritation.

I'll be watching this thread with anticipation :mellow:

Blade buffing. I have a row or two of hair that grows laterally right below my chin and blade buffing takes care of that. Works every time.

Blade buffing. I have a row or two of hair that grows laterally right below my chin and blade buffing takes care of that. Works every time.

Apologies if this is a dumb question, but what is blade buffing? I'm having the same problem and would love to try this method.

Watch Mantic59's YouTube video titled Advanced Shaving Techniques. It also demonstrates J-hooking, which might also help. Just be advised that you should be extra careful with these techniques.

As mentioned above you should watch that video . Blade buffing, J hooking or the slide might be the answer for you.

Last edited by a moderator: