What's new

How likely are you to buy a synthetic shave brush in the near future?

How likely are you to buy a synthetic shave brush in the near future?

• No interest at all

• Tempted somewhat

• No opinion

• Probably will buy

• Already own

Results are only viewable after voting.
I'm interested in how many members are likely to buy a synthetic shave brush in the future. I asked this identical question in the past, and am curious if responses have changed. I'll post the original poll results in a few days for you to compare.

Last edited:
Most certainly. I have been using a synthetic for the past 4 years exclusively, and decided to pick up a couple of my favorite Rooney brushes on a whim. After using them a week, they will be going to the BST at some point. I really like and prefer the way synthetic brushes perform, they use less product and do an excellent job at face and bowl lathering. Synthetics are so good now that they match the performance of badger easily. In my opinion anyway.

I have my eye on the new Plisson and perhaps another EJ. My original EJ has a 19mm knot; I'd like something a little bigger.

I was very sceptical about synthetics after my lacklustre experiences with a Body Shop brush.
But then I read about the black fibre and bought myself a Muhle HJM to find out what all the fuss was about.
Now I can't stop using it,.it's just so great.
A bit like mobile phones, I'm excited for new developements in synthetics (maybe ones that release water gradually somehow like naturals).
This has got to be one of the very few areas of wetshaving which has improved in the past 20 years.

Bought a few, found them too springy and didn't enjoy them as much as my badgers so I won't be having one in the near future.

I already have a Kent Silvertex, which I love, and a Whipped Dog, which so also great. Well, I actually have two Kents; I like to have backups. I may buy a backup WD if one pops up on the BS&T.