What's new

Bar handle New Type open comb. Is it just me.

attachment.php

I'm on the point of getting rid of mine. (pic above is from wiki)
I only have tried it a few times with a couple of my favourite blades & my short comb New just seems way too mild. I'm talking milder than my DE89 & Tech.
Loaded a Feather in it today.
WTG/ATG passes done & barely DFS. I have mild/moderate thickness blonde beard.
The comb marks are obvious, leaving plenty of cream on my face during the passes. I never have this problem with my Old Type. Never get any stubble left under my jawline with 2 passes using my O/T.
I don't think it's poor technique because I can get BBS with my O/T, Tech & DE89.
I know there are many fans on this site, with "comfortable" often the first word used with regard to this razor. For me instead of "comfortable" read "inefficient".
Anyone else think this is a massively overrated razor?

I have no experience with the SC, but I do with a LC, and while I wouldn't classify it as an aggressive razor, I still think it is pretty effective and it's one of my favorite razors for sure.
For what I read the SC is just a little less "aggressive" than the LC, but I don"t know, I haven"t tried one yet.
Just a thought, now reading your post again, you mention plenty of lather left on your face between passes. Maybe a shallower angle would work better for you?

On a side note, I do consider the Old Type noticeably more aggressive than the NEW.

Thanks. I have probably 3 or 4 more shaves left with the blade, and for me Feathers are best on shaves 2,3 & 4 so I will try the shallower angle as that makes sense.
Weirdly, blade exposure seems to be about the same as my O/T, so I guess it must be something to do with the head geometry or comb that renders it far less efficient than the Old.

I have this razor and it's one of my favorites.
In fact, I also have the LC and find no difference in the type of aggressiveness between the two. Love the LC as well...