What's new

Bicycle endurance: help a couch potato out!

Man I am so out of shape. I have quite a bit of extra weight on me (5'7", 212lbs - 215lbs) and since it's uncomfortable to run at this point, I opted to get a bike. Much easier. Here's the problem though. Since I've been sitting at a desk everyday for the last 10 years, my legs have gotten weak. I can bike on low resistance for about 5-6 minutes. Sometimes I can do maybe 10 min. It's not that I get winded or tired, it's more that my legs just are weak and give out. I just need to build endurance. What's the best way to build my endurance at this stage?

Hey, you have to walk before you can run. You've taken the first step, so the rest will come easier. I don't know about you, but I find it easier to bike outdoors. Changing scenery and fresh air help to keep your mind engaged, and that helps distract you from your legs getting fatigued. I would imagine there would be some lovely open flatland around SLC. It may also help to start with just small trips; down to the convenience store for milk and such, then maybe a little further, perhaps in your search for antique stores to pillage. :wink2: Personally, that's one of my favorite stress relievers. Good luck my man, and keep up the good work!

Bikes are fine but an elliptical will afford you a better workout as you are using upper body members also. Beginning last January I started a routine of 1-1.5 miles on the Livestrong 8.0 elliptical about 2-3 days a week. I began slow, about 3-3.5 mph. Mileage is now 2.5-3 miles 3-4 times a week at 4.5-5.5 mph. Cholesterol (134) and triglycerides (126) are significantly lower. Lost about 30 lbs. in the process also. Only diet change was to cut back in carbs, no matter what they were-bread, rice, pasta, potatoes, etc. Note I did NOT say "omit", just paid attention to what I was consuming. So now I'm 6'1"..216 lbs. 195-200 is the tonnage I feel best at and I don't think it will be all that long until I'm there.