What's new

Ready to switch: any advice ?

Hi!

I am Jerry Johnston and I have been a long time Canon user. Utilizing the Canon 40D, (17-40 L F4mm, 24-70 mm L F 2.8, 70-200 mm L F 2.8,
canon 580 EXii, 550 EX flashes).

I have been looking at switching to the
Olympus OM- D E 1 4/3rds camera.
My question is, Should I switch or
Which one of the Nikon cameras would be recommended
and why?

If I were to switch to Nikon what would be comparable to the Canon 40D or better? My aim is to improve my photos not only got myself, but for real estate. I have been doing photography for 10 years and would like to be able to not only sell the clients home but to take the photos of the clients home.

What I would want is a Nikon body with a grip, and a wide angle lens and a lens for covering events. maybe a flash. Or another lens. Pro lenses of course. And filters for both lenses. A camera that has wifi and the ability to use it with a MacBook Pro 15" retina display and an iPad Air.

After 10 years I finally see just how good Nikon is and what I have been missing.

I would be grateful for the assistance. As I will be at the
Houston Camera Exchange Tuesday afternoon.

I look forward ward to your response.

All the Best,

Jerry Johnston

I believe the D90 by Nikon was released the same time as the 50D. So anything above that level like the D300, D600, D7000 and others is where I would start my search. I don't know Canon stuff very well though to really compare.

-X

What's your opinion on the D800 ? I'd love a D3s or D3x but those are expensive! What's a good pro Nikon body?

D610, D800E, Df all are the current offerings. Personally, the 36mp of the D800E is just way too high, HUGE file sizes. The Df is the same sensor as the D4, and at only 16mp much more manageable file sizes. No video on the Df though.