What's new

New razor is dull already?

G

gummydad

Hello everyone, I'm new to the DE world and wanted to reduce my impact on the environment, was tired of paying $15 for a pack of blades, and I just wanted my routine to be a little more manly. I just bought a Parker 90r razor and love it. It came with a 5 pack of 7am razors. The blade worked great the first time, didnt even cut myself. It was hard to clean the gunk off afterwards though. But...the second time...I should have used some sandpaper instead. It was horribly dull. So, my question is: What am I doing wrong? Is there a much better blade to use? Or am I an idiot who should give up?:blushing:

First of no you shouldn't give up. There are many more variable present when shaving with a DE over your cartridge razor that you may or may not have thought of. The first one would be the blade perhaps 7ams are not right for you. I would suggest finding a variety of blades because each brand is different. I doubt its your blade angle because other wise your first shave would have been a total disaster. I would try a different blade and see what that brings you welcome to B & B and good luck if you keep having problems keep posting you'll always find someone on willing to give advice.

idiot, no ... not at all. You are new to DE shaving and like any other skill it will take some time to learn. Different razor blades act differently in different razors (not to mention different to different people). You should get a razor blade sampler pack from west coast shaving, so you can try a variety of blades with your new razor. Something will work for you, if you are patient and willing to experiment.

Also, welcome and spend some time soaking in all the knowledge and tips of the many shaving masters here (present company excluded).

Good luck.

If you have hard water, that can often cause problems with lathering and the "gunk" on the blade.

You can try distilled water instead and that might make a big difference.