What's new

Do you feel guilty not liking popular products?

I am fairly new to wetshaving and have been trying lots of products. Obviously I have started with the most recommended and some I absolutely love while others I can't stand. For instance I bought shulton old spice cream and aftershave. I really dislike the scent. The thing is old spice is like a staple for wetshaving and has tons of history. I feel guilty not liking it. Am I the only one? There are too many great products to worry but I do. Any highly regarded products you just can't get along with?

I haven't used many products, VDH glycerine (great!), AOS sandalwood (awesome), Proraso red (WOW AMAZING) and Williams mug (horrible results) I wouldn't say Williams mug is popular though. Although there is a cult following on here :lol:

You use what works for you! No worries, ill pm you with my address and you can send them my way LMAO!! :lol:

Last edited:
The only product catagory I have a absolute favorite in is witch hazel. Thayers is the only brand I like. But I do occasionally try others. I just haven't found any others that compare. There is nothing I can't get along without and nothing I won't try at least one time.

There are several "popular" products that I don't care for. Old Spice and Brut are a couple of them. I don't think they are bad products, just not something I'm interested in. I don't feel guilty for not liking them but then again I've never been one to do things just to fit in.

I feel no guilt what-so-ever. Just because certain products may be popular with a majority of shavers, still doesn't make them work any better for me.

No reason to feel guilty, it's just a product. Many people decide not to buy a product because of the name, scent, or some random ingredient, be it because of an allergy or not.

If you don't like a food no matter how you try it, you don't feel bad there just don't eat it. Same thing here.