What's new

Shaving my father-in-law

So my father-in-law has been recently diagnosed with multiple myeloma AND has been struggling with multiple sclerosis for years. He's one of the most kind, gentle, and selfless men I've ever had the honor of knowing and from day one, has treated like a gentleman and an equal. This is important to note since I was the one to take away his only daughter and have 2 children with her before we officially tied the knot! I did, however, show him the respect he deserves and asked for his blessing before popping the question.

I've been doing the wetshaving thing for a few months now and have been extolling its many virtues to pretty much every man I am either friends or family with. My father-in-law mentioned that for years he's used an electric razor due to its ease and safety because his hands tremble nowadays due to illness. Of course, I was shocked and horrified that such a wonderful gentleman would be subjected to the vile torture of such a barbaric piece of machinery!

I made the offer to shave him the RIGHT way. And he surprisingly agreed to let me put a double-edged razor to his face and throat with little experience in the arena. I watched videos of Turkish barbers' techniques with the oil massages and towel wrapping, etc. I must preface that I am a registered nurse and do have experience shaving other men from when I was doing my nursing school clinicals at the nursing homes. The old men loved getting shaved and being able to feel like proper gentlemen again after days of growth on their faces and necks.