What's new

Pipe Smokers: A good English Blend?

Depends what you like, heavy or medium latakia or oriental, though heavier on the oriental is typically called a Balkan. I'm by no means an expert but I've been trying to smoke my way through these. Scroll down for Balkans

My favorites are Margate, Penzance, Campanile.

S

sullivanpm

Depends what you like, heavy or medium latakia or oriental, though heavier on the oriental is typically called a Balkan. I'm by no means an expert but I've been trying to smoke my way through these. Scroll down for Balkans

My favorites are Margate, Penzance, Campanile.

I knew there was a change in the 965, I see Dunhill has changed blending houses.
I have tried all of the Frog Morton's with On the Town and On the Bayou being my faves.
I tend to like the Balken/English blends better than Orientals (I do like Squadron Leader though).

I don't particularly care for anything with Burley in it.
And I have smoked enough Virgina blends to know that I am not fond of straight Virginia blends.

I really love GL Pease's Westminster.

I ahve heard fabulous things about his new blend maltese falcon, but have yet to crack my tin.

S

sullivanpm

Almost all of Greg's blends are great.
+1
I have yet to smoke a bad one.
I really liked Mephisto & Bohemian Scandal when you could still buy them.
Renaissance & Ravens Wing were tasty as well.

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
I have a boatload of them. I particularly enjoy Charing Cross, Abingdon, Blackpoint, and Caravan.

GLPease - Westminster!:001_wub:

If you can, get Murray's Dunhill London Mixture

Samuel Gawith's Squadron Leader is a pretty good English too.

The Pease blends mentioned plus Deacon's Downfall. You'd probably like McClelland Arcadia, too, but it does have a touch of that ketchupy whang people talk about.