What's new

TOBS Sampler Review

I recently bought the TOBS sampler of all 14 scents from Maggard (found here) and decided I'll post my review of each scent and shave. I'm still new to wetshaving and honing my technique, but I thought it'd be fun to share my thoughts about each scent with everyone. Stay tuned!

Scent 1: Sandalwood- When I was gifted all my wetshaving stuff for Christmas, I was given a tub of the Sandalwood scent. I generally enjoy the scent and have been able to get a pretty good lather from it. This is what I used in all my shaves up until now (over a month and a half). This was a good starting cream, but I don't have anything to compare it to. The last shave I did with Sandalwood was on Monday February 3rd with a new Gillette 7 O'clock green blade.

Scent 2: Grapefruit- I just busted out the sampler pack and decided to go with Grapefruit. I've read a lot of good things about this scent and wanted to give it a try first. The sample sizes are a bit small and my badger brush got a lot of it. There's not much left, so I'll probably only get three shaves total. It lathered pretty well. Used my Merkur with the Gillette 7 O'Clock green. The scent was very citrus-y and I can see why people like to use it in the morning. I also tried something new-going ATG for a third pass. I usually only do two pass WTG and XTG, but decided it was time to try a proper ATG. I had a lot of lather so it wasn't too bad. Overall, it's a nice scent that gave a good shave and if I were really into citrus/fruity smelling creams, I'd buy a tub of this.

Last edited:
Sounds good man, to be honest you can never really go wrong with TOBS. Eton College was first shaving cream I picked up when I started wet shaving and its still my favorite sent and one of the best performers for me. I'm sure you'll love your samples :)

Awesome! Good to see another Maggard Razors shopper! I did the same thing and bought the sample pack. I am curious to see what your top 3 are.