What's new

First Brush Choice: Help Me Select a Finalist

I'm new to DE shaving.
I've bought shave cream, a huge blade sampler pack, and am awaiting arrival of a Gillette Adjustable (1970's black handle, not sure what they are called) . All I need is a brush.

I’ve been reading over numerous brush posts, looking over numerous merchant sites, and I cannot really decide on a product. Some input would be useful.

My face (and head) is small. My whiskers are very mild, not full, could never dream of growing even a sparse beard or mustache (it would take 3-4 times the thickness of my whiskers to have a filled in beard or mustache…and I have virtually no sideburn whiskers to speak of). Essentially mild whiskers on my upper lip and chin with a few wild ones elsewhere.

I’ll mostly be using creams (currently purchased Taylor’s Avocado) and lathering in a bowl. I want a brush that expedites lathering as I’m often rushed in the mornings and can’t take 5 minutes to generate lather. I may also do palm lathering on occasion.
My skin can be sensitive i.e. I get razor burn and soreness with repeated razor strokes (from a Sensor. I just ordered my 1st DE razor). I’m a painter and currently I’m using an artist’s badger blending brush with the Taylor’s until I buy a shave brush.
I’m thinking because of my very small face size and small shaving area a smaller brush would work better (I assume I do not need a ton of lather in the bowl). I’d like a brush that is comfy on the face (I do not know if a brush would irritate me, but why force that issue?). I’d like good quality insofar as it is well made of good materials and will not be a disappointment to own and use.

I am not a fan of ‘ye olde school’ design for most things (there are exceptions) but for my hygiene and grooming stuff if available I prefer modern design, the sleeker and more contemporary the better. I’d prefer a black handled brush over white.