What's new

On the hunt for a new pen

I own two fountain pens, at this point. A Parker Sonnet SS GT and a Parker Urban. Both are nice, but I think I want something large and heavy with some good line variation and plenty wet. Possibly a flex tip?

Here's the rub... I want to stay under $50. Preferably lower. Everything inexpensive I see is plastic... I like metal bodies. Does anyone have anything they can recommend?

For everything I do t think such a pen exists -the flex a pilot metropolitan is metal but not sure its large enough for you

Most pens are acrylic (a kind of plastic... but not plastic) thr metal and heavy pen are really narrowing you selections at 50 bucks... you may want to save up to get into some other options... or you may have to settle for a few of your choices rather then everything in one pen

I was kind of afraid of that. I am a total fountain pen newbie, and a big cheapskate. That Pilot Metropolitan Flex looks pretty good. How is the ink flow? Is the nib fairly smooth?

Also, I caught a review of a Jinhao 159 on Youtube. It's suspiciously cheap, but seems to have many of the the things I like, minus the flex. Anyone have any experience with it?

Last edited:
+1 on the Pilot Metropolitan! It is well under $50 but has a substantial feel. It writes smoothly and appears to be a more expensive pen. The cost to value ratio is excellent.

Another option would be to check the Levenger store on eBay. Most would be acrylic/resin, but I love the six I have. Great writers. I get lots of comments on them.

A third option would be the Lamy Al-Star. It is essentially a Safari with an aluminum body. It is light, but a workhorse in my rotation. The one downside is that over time it shows more wear than the Safari. The anodizing tends to scratch. I'm okay with that, but others may not be.