Thread: Vintage Safety Razors from Gillette

Default Vintage Safety Razors from Gillette

I'm new to Badger & Blade, and I mentioned in my introductory post that I recently made an investment, so that
    I could purchase a vintage safety razor of my choice. I ended up with two, in which both were manufactured by Gillette. They shave quite well. Below, are some pictures of them.

From research, this is a gold-plated safety razor that is known as the "Aristocrat." I believe it dates back to the late 1940s. It has its original case, and the safety razor itself is definitely very beautiful. Crafted well to last for a long period of time. I also received some vintage razors from Gillette, and I shaved with a brand new one in the case. Shaved like a champ.

This next one I really like a lot. I believe this model from Gillette is known as the "NEW BOSTONIAN," and it is what I learned an "open-combed" razor. Also gold-plated, and it shaves well, too. Has its original case and razor blade case, in which is gold-plated. I think this is from the early 1930s.

I have to admit that I appreciate vintage safety razors, such as these, simply because they were crafted with care, and they still look great so many years later.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Images

Beautiful pieces that you have there. I agree with you and your feelings about how well the vintage Gillette's were made.

Welcome to B&B.

Frank

Mentioned
    22 Post(s)
    Images

Wow, great investments.
    Jim P. - Chandler, Arizona

ackvil
    (at) badgerandblade.com

Arizona Retro Shave Enthusiast.
    Any questions? Just ask! Since I may not read all of the posts feel free to PM or Email me.

"Winning is like shaving - do it every day or you wind up looking like a bum." Jack Kemp.
    "Be a gentleman at all times. Shine your shoes, shave every day, be considerate of others, and don't chew with your mouth open." Words of advice from my late mother.