What's new

PIF vs passaround ?

I'm almost to the point where I need to clear out a bunch of shaving stuff (some razors, razor heads, some shaving creams and samples, et cetera). My vision is to throw everything into a box which then goes from person to person, with each person trying out what they like/possibly keeping some of it/possibly adding some stuff and mailing it on.

My goals would be to include people new to wet shaving and to never see any of the contents again. I'd pay postage to person #1 and then forget about it except maybe reading in threads how much person X enjoyed product Y and so on and so forth. I have zero desire to "monitor" what is going on beyond that.

Is this a passaround, or a PIF, or what?

I think that would be a pass around box. And I'd definitely like to be added to the list, I am dying to sample different razors and products. As a noob myself I think it's a great idea as it would give me an opportunity to try before I buy! And then of course pass it on to the next guy and help spread the joy and love of this hobby.

Teppanyaki if you start this I would definitely be in to play..

I also think anyone who receives the box should definitely post their thoughts, breakthroughs, and criticisms on this thread.

Toothpick

Needs milk and a bidet!
Staff member
I'd call that a passaround.

There have been a few I've seen here. I've also seen at least 1 (maybe 2) completely disappear after being passed around halfway through the list.

Not to discourage you, just treat it like a message in a bottle.

If someone keeps the entire contents of the box, well that is pretty unfortunate and goes against the whole spirit of the exercise. It's a "take a penny give a penny"... not a "I'm gonna take all the stuff and keep it."

Last edited by a moderator:
Well Tep, if you do start a pass around box I would be up for being in on it as well, definately have some goodies I could add as well.