What's new

State of the Union?

So I didn't hear anything too surprising. I am a little surprised he didn't spend more time talking about the economy, and he mainly tied that to tax cuts.

So did he say/leave out anything you were surprised by?

And to think, the president used to deliver a letter to Congress regarding the state of the Union. Imagine that! I believe that's all the Constitution requires.

And to think, the president used to deliver a letter to Congress regarding the state of the Union. Imagine that! I believe that's all the Constitution requires.

I was actually thinking about that while he was speaking.

On a lighter note.... when I was an undergrad I would get together with a few other political science students (my minor) and we would take a drink every time he said "freedom" or "liberty," this would always lead to a drunken stuper by ten o' clock. Tonight I lost count at 17 by 9:33. I think this one could have been deadly for anyone trying to play that game.

I was actually thinking about that while he was speaking.

On a lighter note.... when I was an undergrad I would get together with a few other political science students (my minor) and we would take a drink every time he said "freedom" or "liberty," this would always lead to a drunken stuper by ten o' clock. Tonight I lost count at 17 by 9:33. I think this one could have been deadly for anyone trying to play that game.

I've played that game before, it's great. Plus, he said "nucular" this year. That was always a finish-your-drink moment with my crowd.

I've played that game before, it's great. Plus, he said "nucular" this year. That was always a finish-your-drink moment with my crowd.

With us you had to finish your drink if he envoked religion. We pounded drinks when he called the "war on terror" a crusade, tonight we would have pounded them when he called Israel the "holy land." How scarry is that, we have a President who thinks a patch of dirt can have divine properties.