What's new

damascus

I just have to ask a question that may ruffle some feathers.
How is it that I can get a 150.00 hunting knife with real
antler handle and this is the kicker a Damascus steel blade
10 times the size of a straight razor, but the straights are
750.00 -1,000.00 dollars, this just does not make sense to me.
The work in making Damascus is the same. If it takes twenty
hours to make and 1000 to buy that is $50/hour that is more
than most college grads make.

I am a college grad and absolutely do not think that I deserve anywhere near the salary that Mr. Zowada makes at this time in my career. He is truly a craftsman and stand up guy, and deserves much more than he is making. If you want to get one of his knives, the waiting list is over 10 years long and they are much more expensive than his razors; so we are very lucky to have the opportunity to purchase his razors at the prices that they are going for now. Just as all steels are not created equal, all pattern welded steels are not equal; you are really comparing apples and oranges in this case. I would recommend that you check out his website (tzknives) and look at the labor intensive process that Mr. Zowada puts into his steel and the razors that he makes with it. Even if it does only take 20 hours to make a razor, it took Mr. Zowada over 20 years to learn his craft, so you are paying for his experience. If you were to put ten times as many hours into a razor I guarantee that you won't produce the same result.

Trust me when I say that I am not bashing his work and was not calling him out specifically
just an observation in the materials. I am new here and do not know him or have the privilege in using his products, just questioning what makes a razor worth a thousand dollars by any maker.

Trust me when I say that I am not bashing his work and was not calling him out specifically