What's new

I Coloniali lathering

Last week I received my I Coloniali Mango shaving soap. I do love the scent. However, I’m having trouble building a good lather. I normally need lots of lather (3 passes on my head and 3 on my face) and make it a bowl. This soap is much harder than the others I tried (Cella, Tabac, MWF, Klar) and wouldn’t load well. I even tried to face lather. Results were pitiful. I used Semogue 610.

Any recommendation?

I like to start with a dryer brush and build it up slowly. Keep in mind that I Coloniali doesn't have great volume, but is more of a dense lather.

I can make you a video of how I do it if you'd like.

I am by no means an expert on building lather with this soap since I've only used it a dozen times at the most over the past year but what I do know about this soap is that it creates a very slick lather in particular.... but has never produced a large volume of lather easily for me. I would also say that it does not have the cushion as some of the other great soaps like Tabac, MWF, D.R. Harris, etc. I believe that I've only every used a badger brush, but I know that I've always let it soak with a layer of water on top for a few minutes before attempting to load the brush. When I have the trouble that you are having with a soap, my solution is to always used more loading time and more water (a little at a time). Some soaps lather easier than others.... and this soap may be in the "others" category..... but from what I remember, the lather is very slick and smells great and has always resulted in a great shave for me. I am not a head shaver, so I do not need to produce as much lather as you, but I do seem to recall that getting a large amount of lather from this soap takes a bit of effort.

Ben