What's new

new to shotguns

This is my first post on the firearms forum. I have recently developed an interest in shotguns and related sports and hunting and am researching a budget entry level shotgun.

A little background about me. I used to go shooting with my gunsmith uncles when I was young, but since my youth I have only fired M-16s in the Air Force, and only when qualifying to deploy.

I have been looking at a Remington 870 Express as a possibility. I'm interested in range shooting to learn, then clays and bird hunting later on as well as home defense. Would this be a decent start?

Thanks!

Welcome. You're going to love it. I've been hunting for 40 years, but am not a gun expert. Other guys know far more, but you can throw this opinion into the pot with all the others.

The 870 is a classic gun with a great reputation for reliability. There are also plenty of them used if you choose to go that way and in multiple chokes. I also think the choice of a pump is a good starter gun because it's versatile. You can hunt birds, get a slug barrel and go after deer and it will handle the newer loads for non-toxic waterfowl hunting. It's just a workhorse.

If you think, however, that you're really going to end up spending more time on the clays course, then look for a good used O/U with interchangeable chokes. This is a much bigger expenditure, but if you enjoy doing it, then you're going to buy one anyway.

One other important thing. I learned to shoot from an old farmer. Today, I'm a solidly mediocre shooter. Lots of bad habits. When my son expressed an interest, I started him off with lessons from a certified instructor. He routinely out shoots me. You should start off with some lessons.

This is very exciting. Best of luck and let us know how you do. And if you get up to Northern Virginia, then we'll head over to Bull Run in Manassas and shoot a few clays. Prediction: you'll beat me.