What's new

Brush Recomendation?

Hello B&B,

I've been wetshaving for a few months and my VDH badger is shedding at least 3-5 hairs a shave. I decided that I'd like to buy a new brush before I'm whipping up lather with just a handle. I have about $50-60 to spend. I'd like a sufficient amount of backbone for tripple milled soaps, but not horribly scritchy (I dont mind a little bit. We'll just say my last brush was "exfoliating"). I definitely prefer the look of a bulb shaped knot instead of a fan. If I had unlimited funds I think I'd be picking up a Thater 4125/1 but alas, I don't :a52:

I've also been thinking about making my own brush. I have access to a CNC lathe so I've been playing around with a few handle designs for cherrywood blanks. If I go this route, what would be a good knot? From my research on knots I would've been leaning towards the TGN 24mm finest XH bulb, set to a loft of 48-50mm. This is also open to suggestion.

Recommendations for either options are greatly appreciated! Thanks gents!

Welcome to B&B!

Are you face-lathering or bowl-lathering?

For your budget could get a very nice boar like the Semogue SOC, or a less nice badger. If you face-lather, maybe the Simpson Berkeley in Best? I would spring another $5 for the Colonel, myself: good for face or bowl. Knot shape might be unpredictable with Simpsons, though, and I see the SOC as more of a fan shape.

If you turn your own handle you will have much more control. Be sure to look into stabilization options for the wood, though: it will get wet.