What's new

What Is The Purpose Of A Brush?

I have been wet-shaving for the last 9 years or so and I have used many,many badger hair and boar brushes. Last week I sold my Duke 3 and bought a brand new SOC.
I also ordered the Muhle silvertip fibre brush in 21mm. I got the SOC first because the Muhle was coming from Connaught over in England. Anyhow, I used the SOC 3 times and than the Muhle came. This brush makes the best lather I have ever made, so much so,that I will be selling the SOC cheaply and getting a larger Muhle. IF the purpose of a brush is to make a rich,creamy lather
than this synthetic brush is at the top and it cannot be beat by any badger or boar at any price point. Of course YMMV.

I don't find brushes make any difference in the quality of the lather, but they make a world of difference in applying it.

I think softer/longer haired brushes make a better lather. I have several synthetic brushes and gotta say that the Franks Richmonds are excellent. I have two 24mm Richmond brushes and they are great to use, smooth to the face (not scratchy like boar brushes I have tried, or Omega synthetic), create a nice fluffy lather and allow me to apply it perfectly. I'll never use anything else - my pure badger just sits there unused these days. they cost about $20AUD including postage to Oz (ebay seller http://stores.ebay.com.au/Ian-Tangs-Shaving-Workshop)

Last edited:
When face-lathering a brush has a few more roles: prep, holding lather for multiple passes, and providing a pleasant experience. Quantifying some of these is difficult, but I am afraid the Mühle synthetic did not make my cut. It felt disturbing, like I was lathering with something made by Voit. It lathered quickly, but the lather quality was no better than what I get with boars, badgers, and horses. Speed does not much matter to me because I face-lather for 3-5 minutes anyway, for beard prep.