What's new

what is wrong with my stropping?

Good evening,

I am new to straight razor shaving and recently acquired two straights, one new and one used. They both arrived in shave ready condition. The used one is 4/8 and when I strop it (I use a paddle strop) I have a very difficult time getting the toe third of the razor to pass the hanging hair test despite 200 passes. I eventually stropped with half of the razor on the strop and made a very mild arcing motion and after about 50 passes I was able to get it to pass the HHT, barely.

My new razor is 6/8 and when I did about 100 passes the toe and heel thirds would pass the HHT but the middle third of the razor would not. Again I started stropping with part of the razor off of the strop and ended up getting the middle to pass the test but it doesn't pop the hair like the toe and heel do.

Is it typical to have such varying results with different razors? Is this a reflection of my technique? Is the blade shape affecting the outcome? I was able to get the razors shave ready but am really curious about this.

Thanks

Attachments

• $DSCF0541.jpg
    $DSCF0541.jpg
    42.7 KB · Views: 167
  • $DSCF0539.jpg
    $DSCF0539.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 167

Kentos

B&B's Dr. Doolittle.
Staff member
Did you use an x-stroke or just a straight back and forth motion? For the most part an Xstroke or something similar will ensure all parts of the edge are hit with the leather. If you do a straight back and forth motion warps in the blade or uneven grinds or uneven wear might prevent a section from contacting the leather. In the vid I am using a diagonal stroke heel to toe up and toe to heel on the way down.

Last edited by a moderator:

Mike H

Instagram Famous
Did they pass the HHT before stropping, and how many shaves are on the razors since honing?

Kent
I had thought the X-stroke was only used on narrower strops so I was going straight up and down. Easy enough solution to try over the weekend though, thanks for the advice.

Mike