What's new

Crabtree & Evelyn West Indian Lime shave cream

I’m very new to wet shaving and have been wanting to try a nice shave cream to compare against the soaps I’ve been using. I found there was a Crabtree & Evelyn outlet about 15 min away so I took a quick Sunday drive out, sniffed all their samples of shave cream and decided on the West Indian Lime. I had read good reviews of the Nomad but it just didn’t do anything for me.

Now to the good stuff…..I soaked my brush (Classic Shaving Super Badger) and shave bowl in hot water while I took a shower. I drained the warmed bowl, added an almond size amount of cream, gave the brush two shakes and proceeded to make some lather. Boy was I in for a pleasant shock when lather practically exploded out of the brush with minimal effort. I added another drop or two of water to get the creamy consistency that I had only read about, but had eluded me, and before long I had a fully loaded brush along with a bowl of lather. I proceeded to massage this onto my face and whiskers and not only was the aroma pleasant and mild but it didn’t sting like some of the other soaps I had (classic brand wool fat – Arabian spice). The shave was smooth and there was little to no irritation afterward. The cream did its job by softening the whiskers, providing a cushion/slick surface between the skin and razor and smelling good. This will be my go to product in the future and I will definitely be getting another tube when this runs out, even though it will be awhile before that happens. I’m so happy with it that I may go and get the nomad just to mix things up a little. At $15 + tax for the 100g tube it was a very worthwhile investment.
$Indian Lime creme 001.jpg$Indian Lime creme 005.jpg$Indian Lime creme 010.jpg

Last edited:
I picked this up for $5 shipped a while back. Very good cream, performance is really astounding. I would describe the scent as similar to TOBS Mr. Taylor with a lemon/lime kick.