What's new

Why use a large or exta large brush?

Hey Everyone,
Just wondering what everyone thinks about the advantages and disadvantages of using a larger brush. Other than better water retention (depending on hair grade also) and greater surface area, what are the other aspects that I'm missing? I'm new to wetshaving (just over 6 months), but am thoroughly enjoying my Merkur 34C and my little Vulfix Pure Badger that i picked up for 25 bucks.

I've just been looking to pick up another brush for fun. Im looking at a Mühle Silvertip Extra Large Fibre, and a Vulfix Extra Large super badger. I don't think I want to splurge on a Kent extra large (over $200), and the above are a little cheaper.
Also if anyone has any other recommendations for a quality brush around 100 bucks, I would be very grateful for any tips!
Thanks a bunch!

Last edited:
I just received a chubby 3 today but haven't used it yet. I did have a 28mm Shavemac and found that the two biggest advantages were in the handle and softness. I have big hands and I found the bigger handle fit my need there. However, the softness of that bigger knot compared to the same brush in 23mm was night and day. It was so incredibly soft...an absolute treat to use.

My big one is an Omega pro 49. Pretty large (27/65), lots of backbone, and soft tips. Everyone should try the 48/49 at least once. And for 10 bucks, why not?

Just my 2 cents...I don't personally see any advantage with larger brushes. I don't have huge hands, so that is not an issue for me. Using brushes with knots from 17mm to 20mm in diameter, I get all the lather I can use for 3 passes. I used to own a Chubby 3, a Kent BK12 and several other "big" brushes and found that all I got was lather from my chest to my forehead. Simpsons has some great values in the smaller sized brushes. Saville Row has also has some great brushes under $100. I have a SR 3118 and it is a fantastic brush with wonderfully soft tips....YMMV