What's new

Breaking in a Semogue?

My Semogue 2000 arrived today (yay), i have limited experience with boar brushes. Any tips or guidelines for a smooth break in?

I got a couple of Semogues myself today. The SOC boar and the 830. I don't believe there are any special tricks or secrets to breaking these in other than making sure that they dry out good in between lathers. Maybe that's not even all that important. Just use it like you normally would or do break in lathers on your hand until the bristle tips split after about a month or so. I just did a couple break in lathers this evening on my hand.... mostly to get the funky smell out.... but after feeling how soft the tips are I don't think I would hesitate to just use it for face lathering the next time.

Enjoy your's. I'll be tearing up a bunch of hard triple milled soaps with mine. :thumbup:

Ben

I got an 830 myself few day's back and asked the same thing, try looking for my post and you'll find a little more, should get advice here as well and I think the same as mistercitizen...I think I will use it next time already did two break in lathers and well I wanna use it so will be in my next shave lol.

My relatively new experience with boars has led me to believe that a good way to break them in is to take some soaps that may not necessarily be your favorites and use them!
What I mean by this is that the boar brush is for the most part usable when new but may not hold a ton of lather until it is broken in UNLESS you load heavily! I enjoy tearing up some VDH. I got my relatively new 1520 loaded up the other day with enough VDH lather the other day that I could have done seven passes if I wanted to.