What's new

Product / ‘Equipment’ suggestions for a BEGINNER!

I am ready to start DE shaving. I would like to purchase a couple of things. However, there seems to be endless number of options (It is almost overwhelming!:blink: ). Can someone provide me with a couple of good to great quality, above average performance alternatives?

Keep in mind I am a novice; hence, I need recommendations on ‘equipment’/products that are somewhat ‘forgiving’ but at the same time GREAT products. Let’s just pretend for a minute that price is not object, I might get all this stuff for Christmas.

I understand product/equipment selection is highly personal but I just want general ‘safe’ recommendations. For example, you don’t have to suggest a specific scent but a 'good to great' quality, above average performance shaving cream.

What do you recommend?:

1. Safety razor Blade? Adjustable or nonadjustable? Models?
2. Do I need a pre-shave oil?
3. Shaving Cream or Soap? Why?
4. Brush?
5. Do I need an after-shave?
6. I am ordering a blade sample pack from westcostsahving.com
7. Do I need anything else?

Thank for your help.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
To answer a couple of your questions ...

2. skip the preshave oil.

3. soap or cream? Yes. Because. (Well, you'll eventually try both and decide which you like better personally. I'd say start with a cream for slightly easier lathering ... any one from TOBS that strikes your fancy would be good.)

4. Brush, until the B&B Essential comes out, I'd say start with a Crabtree & Evelyn $35 brush.

I am ready to start DE shaving. I would like to purchase a couple of things. However, there seems to be endless number of options (It is almost overwhelming!:blink: ). Can someone provide me with a couple of good to great quality, above average performance alternatives?